Announcing Anonymouse

This week I went to the post office and then bought myself a strawberry milkshake and both of those events are more significant than they might sound. You see, I enjoyed milkshakes with Eddie Ogan when I first met and interviewed her about her story (which turned into my first book, Always Plenty). At this meeting, Eddie told me about the first time she went out with her husband and bonded over their mutual love of strawberry milkshakes. The next year, my family and friends shared strawberry milkshakes to celebrate the release of the book. No wonder I had a hankering for a strawberry milkshake this week after I had been to the post office because I had just submitted my second bookand it takes place entirely in a post office.

Anonymouse is the story of Parsnip Peppersnatch, an unassuming mouse who resides in P.O. Box 12. Every night he scavenges for food, but he’s always careful to get home before the people come! If there’s one thing Parsnip simply cannot bear, it’s people! Eek! But one day, Parsnip sees a small person who looks very sad. Suddenly he finds himself involved in a scheme that will take courage, know-how and even a few anonymous letters!

I wrote this story about a decade ago, but since then it has been beautifully illustrated by the talented Megan Cangelose and formatted in a paperback book for families to share. I am so pleased to finally be able to send it into the world and let folks enjoy it!

Parsnip’s story has turned out to be a little more autobiographical than I originally perceived. As someone who sometimes lets the coziness of her comfort zone override the pull of the unknown, I look to this little rodent as a bit of a personal hero. I hope he inspires you, too.

Our other star is Philippa, a little girl with a mass of corkscrew hair who intrigues Parsnip from the P.O. box where he watches the happenings of the post office. Megan used my own little sister, Phoebe, as the model for Philippa. I’m so delighted to know you can now see Philippa come to life in Anonymouse

Without further adieu, please join me in celebrating the journey and joy that is my newest release, Anonymouse!


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

One response to “Announcing Anonymouse”

  1. Vicki Osgood Avatar
    Vicki Osgood

    Eek! Excited to read your new book 🙂 I have it in my Amazon cart!
    Xoxo
    Vicki

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started